Applying for halls

It was three o’clock in the morning when I first experienced the time difference between Hong Kong and the UK. I was in a groggy daze and feeling vindictive towards my obnoxiously loud alarm clock. Why was I up so early? Because I hadn’t yet been able to figure out whether or not halls of residence at the University of Hong Kong were allocated by ballot or on a first come first served basis. Considering the fact that every email I had received from the university had ended with a disclaimer stating that I should be prepared to have to find accommodation elsewhere due to limited places, I was not going to be taking any chances. If I didn’t apply as soon as the application processed opened, Hong Kong time, I knew I’d be kicking myself if I didn’t get a place and wondering – was that the reason why?

So… it turns out that the places seem to be awarded based on a criteria of needs etc, rather than first come first served and that stressing about how to fill in the application form at 3 am was unnecessary. But the whole ordeal has given me an insight as to what it might be like keeping in touch with those back home, while I’m away. My parents certainly won’t appreciate it if I inadvertently wake them up at 3 am with an ill timed phone call. Phone calls and skyping will undoubtedly take a little more planning than I am used to. 

I won’t find out for months if my hall application has been successful, but the whole thing feels that bit more real now. Looking at the different accommodation options and seeing pictures of rooms, one of which I may potentially occupy, is all very exciting. I just need to figure out how I am going to adapt to sharing a room with another person. Space in Hong Hong, apparently, is a little tight….

Leave a Reply

